Sketching these last 2 weeks has really given me time with myself to think about decisions I’ve made in my life. I’ve been wondering why I allowed myself to become so detached from my art and if it has to do with allowing myself to be labeled? To be labeled as a stay at home mom and nothing else. To feel as though my life is only about getting all the mom stuff done and not leaving time for myself. But not because I couldn’t find the time, but because I felt that stay at home moms didn’t have the time. It is true, that there has been moments in my life where I was nursing a baby and sleeping when he slept and there was barely time to eat properly or get the spit up off my clothes, but my baby is 8 now. I have had PLENTY of time for my art, but for some reason never made the time. That little voice in my head told me that I had to finish my stay at home mom chores … laundry, cleaning, taking care of the house, blah blah blah. I am so over it. I realize that I don’t need to let a label dictate who I am or what I do with my time. So, for now , I am going to relabel myself as an artist and see where it leads.

And here is a sketch of my pooch by the fire. A chilly , drizzly day, perfect for napping by the fire. He even stayed still for this one.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

