I had a friend yesterday comment on my self portraits asking me why I draw myself so grumpy all the time. Do I seem less grumpy here, Marj? I sort of have a little smirk, right? I think I draw myself this way because I am concentrating, or maybe it is something deeper. Reminds me of the Smiths song,

“I wear black on the outside, because black is how I feel on the inside. And if I seem a little strange, well that’s because I am.”

Try sometime to do a self portrait if you are so inclined, sit in front of a mirror with a pen and paper or crayons and a paper bag, use whatever you’ve got.  Draw every detail and shadow you notice on your face, don’t worry about the end result so much and whether you look happy or pretty or your hair is just right. It is really quite fun and freeing.  Plus, I may look grumpy on the outside but grumpy is not how I feel on the inside. Though I still am a little strange.

