I got back out in my studio today after a gloriously beautiful weekend full of gardening. I ordered some paint in new colors which I hadn’t gotten a chance to use yet and since I had completed my painting on Finish it Friday, I wasn’t really sure if I was going to start on something fresh or work on something that still needed finishing. ¬†But when I got into my studio I realized the painting that I had been sloooooowly working on last week had become a mess when my head was turned.

And this is what it has turned into.

I love how I have no idea what is going to happen when I sit down in front of a canvas.

My latest realization is that it is especially helpful when I take short breaks from painting to let the creative juices simmer. It also gives me a chance to break any emotional ties I may have to a painting which can sometimes get in the way of letting the fresh ideas in.

 

