Lately I’ve been using smaller and smaller brushes on my paintings. It is not a technique that I am naturally drawn toward, but it is fun to try out new things. I’ve been trying to not overanalyze decisions that effect my art as I feel like I am still getting settled in. What better time to keep trying different approaches, techniques and ideas? And if I just keep at it every day, I’ll get better and better. Or in the least, more confident with what techniques are the most effective in achieving the kind of painting I want to create.

I’ve made some changes and only after seeing the photos on my computer did I realize how much I don’t care for the changes I made.

Here is the spring rain storm painting before…

I wanted to add some shading on the clouds, but don’t care for the color I chose…

It’s an easy fix which I will work on next time I get in front of my easel.

Here is the summer flowers painting after I decided that I wanted the blooms to be pink rather than red…

And then I added some details on the background…

I’m not caring for these changes either. BUT often the “mistakes” turn out to add an interesting element that I would have never achieved intentionally.

And finally, here is my latest completed painting!

Signed and ready to go. Which reminds me to tell you that our show at Swarthmore Borough Hall has been extended through the month of August! Since some of my paintings have sold, I will deliver those to the buyers at the end of the month and will have some spaces to fill. Which means I need to get more paintings finished and framed in the next week. I’m heading out of town on Thursday, so really I only have 4 days. Yipe! Time to stop typing and start painting!

