Yesterday I decided to let the paintings sit for a day and work on something different. Though I am happy to have moved onto painting with most of my free time,  I still have a hankering every once in awhile to make something crafty. So I made a quilt!

I knew I wanted to do a pattern called the log cabin, mostly because I have used this pattern before and so I knew it’d be easy and fast. I looked on-line a little and read that this quilt could be completed in one day. Challenge!

I got myself set up with all the essentials and propped myself in front of a good show on a perfectly overcast day.

To complete this project in one day you will need a sewing machine, a rotary cutter and an iron.

And a cute kitty curled up on the chair next to you doesn’t hurt.

What you don’t need is a nice sewing machine or a nice craft room. A crappy sewing machine and a tv tray with couch work just fine. See?

The next thing you will need to gather up is the material you will use to make your quilt. I have a bin of material that I have collected over time that I dug through for my quilt. I picked out the pieces that had a pattern and that seemed like something close to 100% cotton. Then I ironed them, cut them into 2 and a half inch strips, and separated them into a dark pile and a light pile. The contrasting darks and lights are what makes the design pop when you assemble the quilt pieces together.

Here is my attempt at showing you how to assemble the blocks. But go on-line and you’ll find lots of resources with detailed instructions to help you out.

Start each block with a 2 1/2″ square piece of material. Along one edge sew a strip of light material, trim off the excess to line up with the piece you just sewed it to, then flip it over and iron the sewn edge flat to the back. (I had a small ironing board set up right next to me to make it easy.) Repeat with another strip of light colored material sewing it along the length of the previous 2 pieces, trim and iron. Alternate sewing 2 strips of light colored material followed by 2 strips of dark colored material and just keep on going until you get the size of block you want. Sew, trim, iron, repeat. Before long you will get into the groove and be cranking out quilted blocks.

I spent about 4 hours on my quilt and it would be perfect as is with a few more hours to add an edging and a back, but since I have decided that I want this quilt to be large enough for a queen sized bed I’ll need to double it before finishing it. For now, I have all the blocks laid out next to each other so I can decide on the final layout before sewing the pieces together.

Super happy to have gotten some of the crafting energy out of my system and will wait for the next break I take from painting to finish up this quilt. Hopefully just in time to snuggle up with during a luscious crisp fall evening!

