I have a friend who is a dog trainer and has commissioned me to do a painting for her new office space which will be opening in a month. All she requires is that there be a dog in the painting. So the first thing that pops into my head is a dog in a field of flowers. Total no brainer.

Today is the day for me to get started but my model is not cooperating. How can I drag this sweetie out of his crate on a dark, rainy morning for a photo shoot? So I’ll just wait until feeding time when I can get his undivided attention.

kenobi in crate

I have started a few sketches without my model just to get the juices flowing…not sure if I want to go more cartoony or realistic, time will tell.

dog sketches

Though right now I am leaning toward something like this.

little guy

And here is the canvas I am going to build upon. 3′ X 4′. Should be fun!

drips

